Start » Page »

Loading Events

« All Events

EISCAT Symposium 2024

29 July - 2 August

EISCAT Symposium July 29 – August 2 2024

The EISCAT Symposium 2024 will occur the week of July 29 to August 2 in Tromsø, Norway. The 48th Annual European Meeting on Atmospheric Studies by Optical Methods will be held simultaneously.
UiT The Arctic University of Norway campus, Tromsø, Norway
July 29 – August 2, 2024
Abstract Deadline:
March 30, 2024
Preliminary Session List:
– EISCAT 3D, and Complementary Instrumentation
– Magnetosphere-Ionosphere-Thermosphere Coupling
– Novel Radar and Signal Processing Techniques
– Imager/Aurora Studies
– Satellite, Rocket, and Multi-Instrument Studies
– D-region and Mesospheric Phenomena
– Meteors and Space Debris
– Machine Learning in Space and Atmospheric Physics
– Modelling of Auroral/Magnetospheric Processes
– Active Ionospheric Experiments (Heating, etc.)
– Space Weather
– Effects of Satellites on Incoherent Scatter Radar Measurement
Optical Meeting Session List:
– Novel Optical Instrumentation and Techniques
– Optical Calibration Techniques
– Aurora
– Airglow
– Atmospheric Composition, Aerosols, and Clouds (Polar Stratospheric, Noctilucent, etc.)
– Meteors, Sprites, and other Transient PhenomenaPlease note that some sessions may be combined depending on abstract submission numbers.
Due to the demand for hotels in Tromsø during the summer months, it is recommended to book your hotel/accommodations as soon as possible.
More details about registration and abstract submission will be released in the future.
2024 is an important year for the incoherent scatter community as it will be the first year of EISCAT 3D operations. We hope to see initial results from the system presented at the Symposium!
The registration fee is planned to include coffee breaks, lunches, a visit to the EISCAT 3D Skibotn site, conference style presentations, and a banquet dinner.
We look forward to seeing you in Tromsø for the Symposium!
For any inquiries or requests for more information, please contact:

Science Organizing Committe

Thomas Ulich (EISCAT), Noora Partamies (UNIS), Mykola Ivchenko (KTH), Ingemar Häggström (EISCAT), Anita Aikio (Oulu), Hilde Nesse (UiB), Lisa Baddeley (UNIS), Björn Gustavsson (UiT)

Local Organizing Committee at UiT

Björn Gustavsson, Devin Huyghebaert, Inger Solheim, Ingrid Mann


29 July
2 August
Event Categories:


Universitetet i Tormsø


Universitetet i Tromsø
Postboks 6050 Langnes
Tromsø, 9037 Norway
+ Google Map